Joplin Privacy Policy🔗

The Joplin applications, including the Android, iOS, Windows, macOS and Linux applications, do not send any data to any service without your authorisation. Any data that Joplin saves, such as notes or images, are saved to your own device and you are free to delete this data at any time.

If you choose to synchronise with a third-party, such as OneDrive or Dropbox, the notes will be sent to that account, in which case the third-party privacy policy applies.

In order to provide certain features, Joplin may need to connect to third-party services. You can disable most of these features in the application settings:

Feature Description Default Can be disabled
Auto-update Joplin periodically connects to GitHub to check for new releases. Enabled Yes
Geo-location Joplin saves geo-location information in note properties when you create a note. Enabled Yes
Synchronisation Joplin supports synchronisation of your notes across multiple devices. If you choose to synchronise with a third-party, such as OneDrive, the notes will be sent to your OneDrive account, in which case the third-party privacy policy applies. Disabled Yes
Wifi connection check On mobile, Joplin checks for Wifi connectivity to give the option to synchronise data only when Wifi is enabled. Enabled No (1)

(1) https://github.com/laurent22/joplin/issues/5705

For any question about Joplin privacy policy, please leave a message on the forum.